Friday, December 26, 2014

Follow us:
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to this news feed 



Upstate Counties Eligible for Aid Following Drought

  • Text size: + -

Twenty nine counties in Upstate New York have been labeled primary natural disaster areas and will be eligible for aid through the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

U.S. Senators Chuck Schumer and Kirsten Gillibrand say eight area counties including Ontario, Orleans, Seneca, Steuben, Wyoming and Yates will qualify for critical loan assistance after suffering a severe drought and crop freeze this past summer.

Farmers in these counties who experienced crop loss of 30 percent or more and are unable to get credit through a lender are now eligible to borrow up to $500,000 in aid. ClientIP:, UserAgent: CCBot/2.0 ( Profile: TWCSAMLSP